2019 Executive Council Winter Session

Hotel Information

Sponsorship Information

Capitol Hill Reception

Annual Leadership Awards Ceremony


Hill Visits

2019 State of Indian Nations address

Conference Agendas

Date: Feb 10, 2019 - Feb 14, 2019

Where: Washington, DC

View Agenda >>

Register Now >>

About the Event:

Click here for the YOUTH AGENDA.

Conference Location/Host Hotel

Capital Hilton
1001 16th St. NW
Washington, DC 20036

Please handcarry your form of payment with the onsite registration form or register online.

Onsite Registration Rates
$450 Member
$550 Non-Member
$250 Youth (Up to age 24)

If you would like to volunteer for the 2019 Executive Council Winter Session please fill-out the volunteer form.

Related Documents:
ECWS 2019 Agenda in Brief -12.3.18.pdf

Host Hotel

Capital Hilton
1001 16th Street
Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Information

Call: (202)393-1000
Click here to reserve your room by January 23 (date extended). 

If you are unable to make a reservation at the host hotel and would like to be on the wait list, please fill-out the form with your information. For additional questions, please contact Amy Gay at agay@ncai.org.

Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian

Fourth Street & Independence Avene
Washington, DC 20005
Event Date: Wednesday, February 13
Event Time: 6:30 PM - 8:30 PM

This event is open to attendees and there is no fee to attend. For inquiries contact Amy Gay at agay@ncai.org


Tuesday, February 12, 2019 
Presidential Ballroom, Capital Hilton
7:00pm to 10:00pm

Tickets available for purchase here! 

Press Release:
NCAI to Honor Distinguished Champions of Indian Country

Congressional Leadership Award – This award is to recognize those individuals who are elected to the United States Congress who have demonstrated leadership and are champions on issues important to tribal nations.

Public Sector Leadership Award – This award is to recognize partners outside of the governmental sector and outside of Indian Country who work for the advancement of tribal issues and who support Native causes. 

Governmental Leadership Award – This award is to recognize partners in government service who are critical to tribal issues and who serve as champions in their institutions.  

Native American Leadership Award – This award recognizes a Native individual who has helped transform Indian Country through their efforts and long term commitment and whose leadership and work benefits and influences at the national level.

Special Recognition Award – This occasional award recognizes significant lifetime achievement on behalf of Indian Country.  

Past Honorees

2018 Honorees
U.S. Senator Jerry Moran
Google American Indian Network
VAWA Pilot Tribes
Mark Trahant
2018 Special Recognition
Julie Johnson
Ray Halbritter

2017 Honorees
U.S. Representative Tom Cole
Norm DeWeaver
Lawrence Roberts
Chairman David Archambault, II
2017 Special Recognition
Keith Harper

Mary Smith

2016 Honorees
U.S. Representative Betty McCollum
Kevin Washburn
Byron Mallott
Mike Wise
2016 Special Recognition
Jesse Witten
Sherry Salway Black

2015 Honorees
U.S. Representative Devin Nunes
Jodi Gillette
2015 Special Recognition
Robert Burnette
Suzan Harjo
National Criminal Justice Association

2014 Honorees
U.S Senator Mike Crapo
W.K. Kellogg Foundation
James Anaya
Kevin Gover
2014 Special Recognition
Chairman Earl Barbary
Juanita Ahtone

2013 Honorees
U.S. Senator Patty Murray
The National Taskforce to End Sexual and Domestic Violence Against Women
Andrew Lee
Administrator W. Craig Fugate

2012 Honorees
U.S. Congressman Don Young
Washington Interships for Native Students Programs
Dr. Eddie F. Brown
Assistant Secretary for Indians Affairs Larry Echo Hawk

2011 Honorees
U.S. Senator Daniel Akaka
The Annie E. Casey Foundation
Billy Frank, Jr.
Associate Attorney General Thomas J. Perrelli
2011 Special Recognition
Wilma Pearl Mankiller

2010 Honorees
U.S. Congressman Xavier Becerra
Profs. Stephen Cornell & Joseph P. Kalt
Elouise Cobell
Dr. Eric Broderick
Marie Howard

2009 Honorees
U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski
Roberta Valente, J.D.
Rachel Joseph
Scott Burns

2008 Honorees
U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman
Friends Committee on National Legislation –Native American Advocacy Program
Alan Parker
Governor Janet Napolitano

2007 Honorees
U.S. Congressman Tom Cole
Wade Henderson
John E. Echohawk
National Council of State Legislatures

2006 Honorees
Claude Allen
Boys and Girls Club
U.S. Senator Byron Dorgan

2005 Honorees
U.S. Senator Orrin Hatch
NMAI Opening Core Team
Dan Lewis, Bank of America

2004 Honorees
U.S. Civil Rights Commission
U.S. Representative Richard Pombo
Federal Communications Commission
2004 Special Recognition
Patricia Zell
Pat Babcock

2003 Honorees
The Late U.S. Senator
Paul Wellstone
Neal McCaleb
John Herrington, NASA Astronaut

2002 Honorees
U.S. Senator Thomas Daschle
Nike, Inc.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

2001 Honorees
U.S. Representative Dave Camp
U.S. Senator Pete Domenici
U.S. Representative Maxine Waters

2000 Honorees
Lt. Governor Cruz Bustamante
U.S. Senator John McCain
U.S. Representative Patrick Kennedy

1999 Honorees
U.S. Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell
U.S. Senator Daniel K. Inouye
U.S. Representative J. D. Hayworth
U.S. Representative Dale E. Kildee

Directly following the State of Indian Nations, ECWS will begin Monday afternoon. Held at the Capital Hilton in Washington, D.C., the conference will tackle key issues facing Native American communities while providing tactical solutions primarily through legislative and policy planning with the Administration and Congress.

On-site press credentialing for ECWS takes place Monday, February 11, 2019 from 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. ET. Credentialed press have access to all plenary sessions, as well as those sessions noted for press access on the agenda.

Please note all press are required to wear press badges at all times and are asked to announce themselves to the moderator of each session they plan on attending.


You will receive a confirmation email after the deadline has passed if you will receive a credential to cover the event(s). All names submitted for credentials must be accurate and reflect the identification media presents at checkpoints for entrance. Press packets will be readily available at both State of Indian Nations and Executive Council Winter Session at the press table.

Contact NCAI Communications Fellow Kolby KickingWoman with any questions at NCAIpress@ncai.org.

Don't forget to schedule Capitol Hill visits. Indian Country has major priorities to advance during this Session of Congress. It is important for our membership to meet with their representatives, both new and returning members, to continue educating them on issues and making them strong advocates for Indian Country.

If you wish to meet with your representatives in either the House of Representatives or Senate, please submit your meeting request in writing to the representative's office and follow-up to ensure your request was received.

To find your House Representative, please click here.

To find your state Senator, please click here.

For assistance in scheduling a Hill Visit please contact Ashleigh Fixico at afixico@ncai.org.

Click here to view details regarding the 2019 State of Indians Nations address.