2020 Executive Council Winter Session

Hotel Information

Conference Agendas

Hill Visits

Annual Leadership Awards Ceremony

Other Events

Date: Feb 10, 2020 - Feb 13, 2020

Where: Washington, DC

View Agenda >>

Register Now >>

About the Event:

Conference Location/Host Hotel
Capital Hilton
1001 16th St. NW
Washington, DC 20036

REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN! To register online click here. To pay by check please fill out the form and bring your payment with you onsite.  Registration starts Monday, February 10.

Onsite Registration Rates (Rates effective after January 20, 2020
$450 Member
$550 Non-Member
$250 Youth (Up to age 24)

Interested in volunteering for the conference? Fill out our volunteer sign-up form.

Click here for the YOUTH AGENDA.

Host Hotel

Capital Hilton
1001 16th Street
Washington, DC 20036
Tel. (202)393-1000

Click here to reserve your room by January 17, 2020.

To be included on our wait list for the host hotel, please click here. If you have questions please email Holly Naylor.

For additional questions, please contact Holly Naylor at hnaylor@ncai.org.

Hill Visits
Don't forget to schedule Capitol Hill visits. Indian Country has major priorities to advance during this Session of Congress. It is important for our membership to meet with their representatives, both new and returning members, to continue educating them on issues and making them strong advocates for Indian Country.

If you wish to meet with your representatives in either the House of Representatives or Senate, please submit your meeting request in writing to the representative's office and follow-up to ensure your request was received.

To find your House Representative, please click here.

To find your state Senator, please click here.

Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Presidential Ballroom, Capital Hilton
7:00pm to 10:00pm
Click here to register and purchase Leadership Award Ceremony tickets.
To purchase Leadership Award Ceremony tickets only, contact Keona Royal at 202-466-7767 ext. 238

Congressional Leadership Award – This award is to recognize those individuals who are elected to the United States Congress who have demonstrated leadership and are champions on issues important to tribal nations.

Public Sector Leadership Award – This award is to recognize partners outside of the governmental sector and outside of Indian Country who work for the advancement of tribal issues and who support Native causes.

Governmental Leadership Award – This award is to recognize partners in government service who are critical to tribal issues and who serve as champions in their institutions.

Native American Leadership Award – This award recognizes a Native individual who has helped transform Indian Country through their efforts and long term commitment and whose leadership and work benefits and influences at the national level.

Special Recognition Award – This occasional award recognizes significant lifetime achievement on behalf of Indian Country.

Past Honorees

2019 Honorees
U.S. Representative Ken Calvert
Heather Kendall-Miller
Robert D. Manfred, Jr.
Eugenia Tyner-Dawson
Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community

2018 Honorees
U.S. Senator Jerry Moran
Google American Indian Network
VAWA Pilot Tribes
Mark Trahant
2018 Special Recognition
Julie Johnson
Ray Halbritter

2017 Honorees
U.S. Representative Tom Cole
Norm DeWeaver
Lawrence Roberts
Chairman David Archambault, II
2017 Special Recognition
Keith Harper
Mary Smith

2016 Honorees
U.S. Representative Betty McCollum
Kevin Washburn
Byron Mallott
Mike Wise
2016 Special Recognition
Jesse Witten
Sherry Salway Black

2015 Honorees
U.S. Representative Devin Nunes
Jodi Gillette
2015 Special Recognition
Robert Burnette
Suzan Harjo
National Criminal Justice Association

2014 Honorees
U.S Senator Mike Crapo
W.K. Kellogg Foundation
James Anaya
Kevin Gover
2014 Special Recognition
Chairman Earl Barbary
Juanita Ahtone

2013 Honorees
U.S. Senator Patty Murray
The National Taskforce to End Sexual and Domestic Violence Against Women
Andrew Lee
Administrator W. Craig Fugate

2012 Honorees
U.S. Congressman Don Young
Washington Interships for Native Students Programs
Dr. Eddie F. Brown
Assistant Secretary for Indians Affairs Larry Echo Hawk

2011 Honorees
U.S. Senator Daniel Akaka
The Annie E. Casey Foundation
Billy Frank, Jr.
Associate Attorney General Thomas J. Perrelli
2011 Special Recognition
Wilma Pearl Mankiller

2010 Honorees
U.S. Congressman Xavier Becerra
Profs. Stephen Cornell & Joseph P. Kalt
Elouise Cobell
Dr. Eric Broderick
Marie Howard

2009 Honorees
U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski
Roberta Valente, J.D.
Rachel Joseph
Scott Burns

2008 Honorees
U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman
Friends Committee on National Legislation –Native American Advocacy Program
Alan Parker
Governor Janet Napolitano

2007 Honorees
U.S. Congressman Tom Cole
Wade Henderson
John E. Echohawk
National Council of State Legislatures

2006 Honorees
Claude Allen
Boys and Girls Club
U.S. Senator Byron Dorgan

2005 Honorees
U.S. Senator Orrin Hatch
NMAI Opening Core Team
Dan Lewis, Bank of America

2004 Honorees
U.S. Civil Rights Commission
U.S. Representative Richard Pombo
Federal Communications Commission
2004 Special Recognition
Patricia Zell
Pat Babcock

2003 Honorees
The Late U.S. Senator
Paul Wellstone
Neal McCaleb
John Herrington, NASA Astronaut

2002 Honorees
U.S. Senator Thomas Daschle
Nike, Inc.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

2001 Honorees
U.S. Representative Dave Camp
U.S. Senator Pete Domenici
U.S. Representative Maxine Waters

2000 Honorees
Lt. Governor Cruz Bustamante
U.S. Senator John McCain
U.S. Representative Patrick Kennedy

1999 Honorees
U.S. Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell
U.S. Senator Daniel K. Inouye
U.S. Representative J. D. Hayworth
U.S. Representative Dale E. Kildee